Web Accessibility Standards


As a public institution, CSU is legally obligated to provide equal access to electronic information for users with disabilities. This page outlines the standards we are using to reach this goal.

WCAG 2.0

A set of guidelines for web accessibility developed by W3C, WCAG 2.0 is recognized as the international industry standard for web accessibility.

Levels of Priority

WCAG 2.0 standards are divided into 3 levels of priority, A, AA, and AAA.

  • A: The absolute minimum, but not enough.
  • AA: Recommended industry standard.
  • AAA: Best case scenario level for the ambitious.

At CSU, our goal is to reach the AA standard.

Tools Reflecting the AA Standard

WebAIM has developed an automated accessibility tool based on WCAG 2.0 standards. If you run your url through the WAVE tool, the report includes references to the standards.

We recommend using the WAVE tool as your first step in testing websites for AA compliance.

What About Section 508?

Section 508 is the legal impetus for requiring electronic accessibility at public institutions, but the guidelines are generally considered to be outdated. An upcoming revision of Section 508 is expected to reflect WCAG 2.0 guidelines. For this reason, CSU is using WCAG 2.0 as the standard for web accessibility.

Checklists to Use